My new (old) job

I just found out today that I have been hired back to my old job, testing software. The company I worked for was bought a while back by a larger company. I’m getting a better deal than I had when I left, both salary and benefits. Even my title is improved: Quality Assurance Software Engineer.

Isn’t that great? I can tell people I’m an engineer.

Actually, I know a number of genuine engineers, so I can’t tell them, they’d never believe me. My friends, too, are smart people, so I don’t think I could fool them into thinking that I was an engineer.

Come to think of it, a lot of people know the difference between an engineer and an inflated title. Just think about all those repairmen trying to pass themselves off as “refrigeration engineers.”

I guess I really won’t be able to get anyone to believe it.

Of course, there’s always my mom. She’ll believe I’m an engineer. She’ll want to believe it, and what’s more important than that?

Mom — your boy’s an engineer!

I start Monday morning at 8:30.

Leave a Reply

