Have you heard the word of God today?

It was a beautiful day today, and on days like this it isn’t totally unexpected to find that the Jehovahs are making their rounds. A very nice gentleman named Bill, and wearing a Glen Plaid sport coat, rang the doorbell. When I answered, he introduced himself by saying he was doing “volunteer work” in the neighborhood.

A lot of people slam the door in the faces of evangelicals ā€” Jehovahs, Mormons, what have you ā€” but I’ll chat with them for a couple of minutes, if for no other reason than the entertainment value. I have a very strong inclination towards keeping myself entertained.

Bill asked me if I thought God was responsible for natural disasters. Being the sly non-believer that I am, I told him, “I wouldn’t say that.” I think he took my response as encouragement to continue.

I told him I really wasn’t interested in chatting, but that I would take one of his pamphlets. I got two ā€” and a short verse from the Bible read to me.

The good news is God is just as concerned about these natural disasters as the rest of us. That’s what Bill said. And He is going to be putting an end to all of them very soon. I’m guessing that’s all going to happen after He tears the heavens asunder and consigns the wicked to perdition.

So, relax.

Leave a Reply

